Friday, November 4, 2016

TOP STORY >> 314th AW brings home ATA awards

By Senior Airman Stephanie Serrano
19th Airlift Wing Public Affairs

Two members of the 314th Airlift Wing recently took top honors at the annual Airlift/Tanker Association conference in Nashville, Tenn., for fiscal year 2016.

The ATA recognizes Air Force active-duty, Reserve and retired personnel, both officer and enlisted, as well as industrial supporters and civilians throughout the air mobility mission.  

Hard work and dedication have proven to be core characteristics of both U.S. Air Force Capt. William Burrows and U.S. Air Force Staff Sgt. Gregory Marquardt. 

Burrows was awarded the Airlift/Tanker Young Leadership Award. A timeless volunteer, Burrows managed 389 crew members in FY 2016; the wing point-man for the secretary of the Air Force visit to Little Rock Air Force Base; won the Company Grade Officer of the Year honor; and facilitated flight training for 10 international students. 

“I feel very honored to even be considered for this,” said Burrows, a 314th Airlift Wing flying training unit instructor pilot. “It’s a very large pool of eligible people.”

Marquardt was awarded the General Dutch Huyser Outstanding Aircrew Member Award. Just this year, Marquardt obtained 181 hours of training; facilitated weekly cargo meetings with eight base agencies; a technical sergeant nominee for stripes for exceptional performers, the additional duty supply officer helping overcome an Army shortfall; and earned his second Community College of the Air Force degree.  

“I was, and I am still, surprised I was selected,” said Marquardt, a 62nd Airlift Squadron standardization and evaluation liaison/C-130J formal training unit instructor loadmaster. “I know how hard every loadmaster works over the course of a year and all the time they spend away from their families. I am beyond grateful of my enlisted leadership who made this possible.”

These Airmen epitomize Integrity First, Service Before Self and Excellence in All We Do and have set the bar for future recipients of these awards. 

(Editor’s Note: Both Airmen were assigned to the 48th AS when they were selected for this honor. Both have been reassigned to different units but are both still stationed at Little Rock Air Force Base under the 314th AW.)

No comments: